Home Current Affair June 2019 Finance Minister chaired the 35th GST Council Meeting

Finance Minister chaired the 35th GST Council Meeting

  • The 35th GST Council Meeting was held here today under the chairmanship of Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman. This was the first meeting of the GST Council after the swearing in of the new Government.
  • The meeting was also attended by Union Minister of State for Finance & Corporate Affairs Shri Anurag Thakur besides Revenue Secretary Shri Ajay Bhushan Pandey.
  • Altogether, 12 Agenda items were discussed during the Council meeting. Some of these items were of regular nature like confirmation of the Minutes of the 34th GST Council Meeting, deemed ratification by the Council of notifications, circulars, and orders issued by the Central Government between 12th March and 11th June 2019, taking note of the decisions of GST Implementation Committee, etc.
  • The Council took a decision regarding the location of the State and the Area Benches for the Goods and Services Tax Appellate Tribunal (GSTAT) for various States and Union Territories with the legislature. It has been decided to have a common State Bench for the States of Sikkim, Nagaland, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The tenure of National Anti-Profiteering Authority has been extended by 2 years.
  • The Council also decided to introduce an electronic invoicing system in a phase-wise manner for B2B transactions.
  • E-invoicing is a rapidly expanding technology which would help taxpayers in backward integration and automation of tax relevant processes. It would also help tax authorities in combating the menace of tax evasion.

Published On : 22 Jun 2019

Current Affair
Related Content
Jobs by Education